Emergency Medical Services

Short-Term Technical Certificate

Curriculum Code 2114

There are four recognized certification levels for Emergency Medical Services.  Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), advanced EMT (AEMT) and Paramedic.  Included in this certificate are  the course that leads to EMT certification and courses that support Paramedic certification.  The EMT performs assessments of medical and trauma patients and appropriately cares for the patient based on the assessment.  The care provided includes managing cardiac arrest, assisting ventilations, splinting, and administering medications. The EMT program is accredited by the Ohio Division of Emergency Medical Services (OH 319). Lorain County Community College has articulation agreements with colleges and universities including programs offered by Lorain County Community College’s University Partnership.

For more information about this certificate, please contact Dawn Sgro at 440-366-7186 or dsgro@lorainccc.edu.

Visit This Program’s Page


First Semester
EMSB 101 Emergency Medical Technician 8
SDEV 101 College 101 ^ 1
Total Credit Hours: 9

1. Students who are only interested in being eligible for the EMT National Registry only have to complete EMSB 101. A certificate of completion will be awarded to these students.
2. ^ A student must register for the orientation course when enrolling for more than six credit hours per semester or any course that would result in an accumulation of 13 or more credit hours.

Established    January 2016

Effective        August 2016